Let’s Just Say I’m Falling in Love

We had a visitor this past Saturday. I say visitor, but she’s already family to us. She settled herself right in like she had been here for years. I know we haven’t known each other for that long, but it doesn’t feel that way. It feels like she’s always been in our lives, or was supposed to be.

Do you know that saying, “I never knew how much I loved your Daddy until I saw how much your Daddy loved you”? I’m not sure who coined that one, but it turns out…it goes for expectant moms too.

snuggies

She LOVES Logan and brought him a present—a little push car that he just loves (of course he does, it has wheels). He was pretty excited about that and she was happy to see he loved it.   She brought us a present too. It was a little album and a stack of ultrasounds.   I may have squealed. I may have looked at them a few hundred times since Saturday.

ultrasounds

L seems to really be comfortable with her decision. I think the fact that she was also adopted as a child has eased some of her fears. Adoption is familiar to her.

She did a LOT of thinking and soul searching before she gave us the “I’ve made my decision and I want y’all to raise her” phone call. I’m sure her feelings will change on many levels many times before this baby arrives, but for now she is in a really good place. She is including us in everything and well, that makes my heart so happy.

L knows that we truly love her. She knows that we don’t love with half a heart in this family.   She knows that this is a team and she is never going to be left to sit out of the game. She knows that we are all now part of the same forever family.

tossinglogan

I was setting the table when I heard her voice from Logan’s room.   She was reading a book to him about becoming a big brother. I slowly walked down the hall and peeked around the corner. I saw my sweet son leaning against L as if he knew she was always going to be here. It melted me.

And this? This is what open adoption is about. This is my son feeling his sister kick for the first time. I don’t know what else to say but…magical. My cup? It runneth over.

belly

2 thoughts on “Let’s Just Say I’m Falling in Love

Leave a Reply

