15 Months Update!

 
            
Bananas, Apples, Cantelope, Chicken, Animal Crackers, Green Beans
Thomas the Tank Engine, Super Why, Sesame Street
Trains, Cars, Trucks, Motorcycles
Loves to stack toys and make “trains” with his toys
Jeopardy song, music in general, dancing
Bathtime and outside, reading books and chasing mama
Temper / tantrums beginning
Show off
 
 
One and a half has come and gone…
 
I thought I’d be so upset when this day came and you were officially closer to two than you were to one year. I have to say, this is my favorite age yet. It always has been one of my favorite stages. I remember when your Daddy and I first considered adoption and we were thinking about what age we would to adopt—we thought about it for months. 

We wanted to adopt an older child originally. I remember thinking that I didn’t care. I didn’t care if our child came to us as a newborn, a toddler, or a 10 year old. But now I’m so glad that we have had you since birth. I have been able to see MY child go through all of the little stages that I have always held close to my heart.

 
 
We may adopt an older child someday. And his/her adoption will not be less “special” to us. It will just be different. I got to have this with you and with each child comes a new set of memories and experiences. This is what makes yours so special to us. The bond that you have with us can never be considered less than any birthed child. You love your mama and daddy like no other. Not that we were ever worried about that, but I know that other family members and friends were concerned. Those doubts have long been squashed since you have been with us.
 
One hour with us and they no longer think of you as anything BUT our child. Rightfully so–that’s exactly what you are.

You are so well behaved for your age. There are minor temper tantrums and outbursts, but for the most part you are well mannered and disciplined. You are so, so sweet and the funniest kid I believe I have ever known. Even when you throw a little fit, you get over it as soon as you figure out that it isn’t going to work. J

“Please, thank you, and you’re welcome” have come easy for you and for this I’m glad. I hope that you always hold onto the importance of being respectful to others. 

You love your kitties as your best friends and squeal with delight when you think they are playing “gitchoo” with you. I love watching you and Neko. You two have a relationship that is more like siblings than anything else. It’s comical to watch you two play.
 
Your vocabulary never ceases to amaze me, nor does your mechanical abilities and problem solving skills. You love to play with things that require you to figure something out. You may get frustrated in doing so, but you love the challenge nevertheless. Once you figure it out, you are SO proud of yourself. I love that. I hope you are always so proud of yourself upon a new discovery. It’s a great quality to have. 

My favorite moment of every day is hearing your little feet running down the hall as you yell, “Mama! Mama! Mama!” to wake me up in the mornings. I can’t think of any better way to be awakened every day. There’s something entirely precious about seeing your smiling face first thing every day. 
Leave a Reply

