Ohio! (Not the armpit of America. Really.)

Our first trip to Ohio in November went shockingly amazingly well.  I’d be lying to say that I wasn’t a nervous wreck as we hit the road.  It couldn’t have gone more smoothly.  Logan slept almost the entire way–only waking to eat and to have a diaper change the next morning. 

We were soon settled and we spent a lovely day watching the grands and Uncle Matt swoon over the baby.  This was the first time my brother had ever laid his eyes on that baby.  He was smitten, I do believe.  My brother has always been really great with kids, but my heart leapt with joy to see him with my son, his nephew (squeal!).  I have to admit that I shed a little tear or two as I watched them playing together. 

 
Of course it is always good to see my parents snuggling and loving on the little guy.  I know it’s crazy hard on them to be so far away.  They fell in love with him more and more each and every day.  (It’s hard NOT to do, I must say.)
 

Logan met several of his cousins and had all kinds of fun playing with them.  I haven’t seen my cousins, aunts and uncles in a long time and it was great to see them again.  It also was the first time that I had met my cousin Christina’s children.  They are just absolutely adorable, of course!  Logan also met two of his uncles and two of his aunts that are near and dear to my heart.  It was good to see the family together again.

My friend Carissa stopped by with her lovies, Jesse, Indie, and Karli.  We had to squeeze them in because she had a big dinner planned for Thanksgiving and had much preparation to do.  It was SO good to see her, and her precious kiddos.  I wished that we had more time together, but maybe next time we can plan more.  It WAS a holiday week, after all.  Maybe our next trip will have better timing. 🙂  (We seemed to have missed many because of holiday plans. SNARL!)  I had been dying to meet Miss Indie after all of the stories I had heard about her.  I must say, she lived up to every expectation.  She has a great spirit, that one!

 

We met many of my mother’s work friends work and did a good bit of shopping (and eating at my favorite restaurants that I have missed like crazy for seven years).  We also spent lots of time just hanging with Grandma, Grandpa, and Uncle Matt.  Those are the best times, after all.  That really was intentional.  I didn’t want to consume the entire trip with too many outside visits and plans.  They don’t get to see Logan often, so I wanted them to get as much time as they could with him. 

Leaving is always hard.  It hurt my heart more this time than ever before.  It was leaving my parents, my brother, my home…so sad to me.  I know that it’s not the last time I’ll ever be there.  I guess it’s part of being a passionate person.  I love deeply, laugh deeply, and when my heart breaks, it’s painfully hard.  We already have plans for them to come here in the summer.

I can’t wait.

2 thoughts on “Ohio! (Not the armpit of America. Really.)

Leave a Reply

