Newsletter Month 5

Dear Logan,

Today you tasted your first bite of sweet potatoes.  Today you recognized your name as yours for the first time.  Today you learned that if you do something cute and Mama and Daddy laugh, that you actually caused it to happen.  (This has led to countless games of “Peek a Boo”.)  Today you also turned five months old.

You are becoming such a big boy!  We had to let out the straps on your carseat this week because you just didn’t fit anymore.  You can touch the ground in your activity bouncer–if you lean to the side, that is.  When you stand on your feet, you now come to a place above my knees.  I can now hold you on my hip and you sit comfortably.  (If only I could keep your hands out of my hair. haha)

You are now wearing 6 month sleepers and shirts.  You still wear 3-6 months pants but will soon be moving up on those.  You have always had a long body and shorter legs, but they seem to be catching up (finally)!  You are still really hot natured and prefer as little clothing as Mama lets you get by with (much to the dismay of strangers who insist that you are always cold).  Sigh.  Some people never cease to amaze me, Little Man.

You talk nonstop and are beginning to figure out that when you make the noise “maaaa…maaaa” I come to your attention.  It won’t be long now before you are saying it on purpose, I’m sure.  Daddy and I thought that, “hi” was going to be your first real word because you had said it a couple of times, but I think it was coincidental.  I’m pretty sure I have won the “name game” with Daddy, but we’ll see. 🙂  You just never know!

You still love people, but are beginning to become a little more shy around strangers.  I’ve read that this was typical of your age.  You cry for your mama or daddy now when you want one of us in particular.  When strangers talk to you, you quickly hide your face and look to one of us for approval.  Once you see it’s okay, you quickly turn on the charm once again.

You have not yet mastered crawling, but you can surely get to where you want to go.  You usually just roll around until you get there.  Once you are close, you squirm to get exactly where you intended to be.  You thrust your entire body forward sometimes, but you have not yet figured out the “hand-knee” combination.  You still are more interested in walking.  If you are on your stomach, you try to lift yourself up on your feet instead of your knees.  I guess you just think that makes more sense. 🙂

You still sleep like a log.

You have become really interested in Daisy lately and she in you.  She is quite protective of you and I have a feeling that the two of you will soon be fast friends.  She’s really gentle and loving with you–more than she is with anyone.  She has been like that since the day you came home.

I look forward to this next month.  I have a feeling there will be many more milestones to look forward to in the next few weeks.  You notice more and more every day.  This is when I really wish that I didn’t have to go to work.  I don’t want to miss a thing.  I know that it will happen…I just wish that I could be there for everything.

After all, you’re only a baby for a little while. ❤

Love always,

Mama

2 thoughts on “Newsletter Month 5

Leave a Reply

