Grandparents Go Gaga

No.  My parents are not wearing platform-penis shoes or sporting dresses made from slabs of meat. I’m talking about “Gaga” as in watching-two-grown-adults-turn-into-complete-mush-around-a-baby. Yes, that kind of Gaga.

My parents arrived last Sunday night for their first visit with the baby. My mother was not even out of the car ten seconds when she abruptly stated, “Give me that baby”. She hadn’t even said “hello” to me yet, mind you. I see where I rate. J

My dad hugged me a few times. I don’t think I’ve even realized how much I’ve missed him. My mother decided to give me a hug after she snuggled with Logan for about 15 minutes.  She thinks that the baby is the better snuggler and she prefers his hugs over mine. That’s okay. I’d have to agree.  

I’ve missed my mother’s sense of humor so much. She really is a funny lady. Corey is beginning to understand a lot more about me now that he’s spent some one-on-one time with my mother and father. However, I’m not sure if that is a good thing?

They came into town with an entire wardrobe for the baby. I’ve never seen so many baby clothes (NOT in a clothing store). There were bags and bags—all sizes and for all seasons. The kid will be the best dressed kid in town, for sure. Can you say, “SPOILED”?

We spent the night chatting about their trip and reminiscing. We talked about the baby and his routines and we discussed the upcoming week. (They have been keeping him while we are at work during their stay.)

We’ve showed them around a few places and we’ve done a lot of shopping. As a matter-of-fact, we are awaiting the arrival of the crib and dresser any day. 

I wish that I could have taken a few days off while they were here, but my vacation time was all spent with my little Nugget the first two weeks of his life. We accumulate PTO time per week, so maybe once I have a little more time gained, we can plan a trip up to Ohio.

It’s been very nice having them here. Not only because they are such a huge help (they are). But also because it’s just comforting knowing that they are close again—even if it’s just for a little while.

If only I could get them to move here.

They really are completely smitten. They just “ooh” and “ahh” over that baby every moment of the day. My mom’s favorite part of every day is when she can snuggle with Logan in the rocking chair. I love it. I’m so glad that they were able to come down to visit. I wish they’d never leave.

Leave a Reply

