Sometimes Hope Comes in the Most Unexpected of Places

I have this client.  He’s impossible.  He drives me crazy but he loves me.  He is actually one of my favorites, if the truth be known.  What can I say?  I love people that tell it like it is, and he’s exactly that.  On any given day he can give me a migraine, but he is incredibly kind at the same time.  It makes no sense unless you know him.  Sometimes I want to rip his hair out.  Sometimes I want to hug him.  He almost makes me feel schizophrenic.  But he keeps things interesting.

We talk pretty casually for a business relationship.  He knows about the adoption and always asks me how things are coming along with genuine sincerity.  I wouldn’t ever tell him that his cover is blown and that I actually know he’s really one of the good guys, but I fully know the truth.  He’ll never see this post.  He doesn’t know about the blog and probably wouldn’t have the patience to really read it.  So this is not written in attempt to butter anyone up.  He’s not the type that responds to buttering anyway.  The mushiness of this post would probably make him sick to his stomach.  So I’ll stop that nonsense out of respect to him. 🙂

For some reason, he didn’t know that Corey and I were attempting to adopt from foster care.  He only knew that Corey we were trying to adopt.  I thought for sure that this had come up in our many conversations, but apparently I’ve never specified.  Out of the blue the other day, he asked me if Corey and I have ever thought about adopting kids from foster care.  I said in response, “You didn’t know?  That’s exactly what we’ve been trying to do for ummm…two years now!”

I heard him smile on the other end of the phone.  (And yes, you really can hear someone smile over the phone if you listen close enough.)  He asked me if we’d be willing to go to Florida to adopt.  Well of course!  Our CW actually said that if we could find a neighboring state, we’d be better off.

I explained this to him briefly.  He interrupted (as is his style) and said, “You’re never going to believe this, but my next door neighbor works for DFCS in our county.  I’ll talk to her today.  She probably will be able to help you or at least get you to the right person.  She’s actually on the board of the group that selects families for adoptable children here.”
He sent me her cellphone number in an email the next day.  I’ve called and left two messages and she returned my voicemails with one back to me.  We are currently playing a bit of phone tag, but of course we won’t stop trying until we touch base. I can be persistant, in case you haven’t noticed. 
It was the last place I’d have expected to find a little sunshine.  Yet there it was–
shining big and bright on the other end of an office phone.
3 thoughts on “Sometimes Hope Comes in the Most Unexpected of Places

Leave a Reply

