The Heart of a Birthmom

Today I met my first “birthmom”.  I’ve talked with birthmothers via world wide web several times and come to love several of them dearly.  I know several of adopted children as well (and several that are now adults) but I have never personally met someone who placed their child with another family through adoption.

Until today, that is.

She has worked with me for just over a year.  I don’t really know her well as I only interact with her occasionally. She walked up to my desk with a soft smile and tapped me on the shoulder.  I wasn’t quite sure of what was going on, and I’m sure I looked rather bewildered as I turned around.  But my heart melted as she began to speak.

Her eyes welled with tears as she said, “I saw your fundraising flyer on the board in the break room. I didn’t know you were adopting.  I’m so happy for you.  I gave up a son to adoption 34 years ago.  It was the hardest thing I’ve ever done and the greatest thing I’ve ever done”.  We talked about what it meant to her and I told her about how great of a gift she gave to someone else.  We talked about what it meant for her son and the life he had versus the life he would have had.  We hugged and we cried.  She shared thoughts with me that I hadn’t thought about before yet will always be a part of me for the rest of my life.

I have walked by this woman five days a week for over a year.  The person you pass weekly in the grocery store is just a passerby.  The teller at the bank is just the person that hands you money through the window.  But one little thing could change and that person could impact your life forever.  It’s really taught me a lesson, that’s for sure.  You never know who is going to end up important to you in this life.  It could very well be that person that just passes you by every day.  No one is insignificant.

Adoption is a beautiful thing.

Leave a Reply

